On-Site Magazine

Roy named CCA chair

By Adam Freill   

Construction Leadership

Quebec industry veteran Francis Roy will lead the board at the Canadian Construction Association for the 2024-26 term.

Francis Roy has been appointed Canadian Construction Association (CCA) chair for 2024-26. Roy succeeds outgoing board chair Brendan Nobes, who led the association for two years, advancing strategic partnerships and national advocacy.

A 30-year veteran of the industry, Roy is president and CEO of Quebec-based Groupe Humaco companies. He began his career in 1994 as an estimator and project manager at Les Gypses Promark Québec Inc. Having gained experience and a passion for the construction industry, he soon took on the position of vice-president and general manager at ITR Drywall Inc.

In his current role, Roy oversees the activities of his companies at Groupe Humaco Inc., an organization with several specializations, including several drywall, general contracting, real estate development and construction technologies. With more than 200 projects annually, Groupe Humaco uses its expertise and to build complex large-scale projects, such as hospitals, high-rise office buildings, public service complexes, and multi-residential buildings.

The architectural technology graduate is active in several industry associations. He has been a dedicated member of CCA’s Board of Directors and is also a past-chair of the Association de la Construction du Quebec (ACQ).


“My primary goal will be to support a healthy environment where communication is encouraged and valued so that everyone can contribute meaningfully to the achievement of our association’s strategic objectives,” he said in his address to members at CCA’s Annual General Meeting. “I firmly believe in the power of collaboration, engagement, and innovation.”

Joining Roy on CCA’s 2024-25 Board of Directors are:

  • Trevor Doucette (vice-chair), senior director, Operations, Synergy Group of Companies (AB)
  • David Bowcott, managing director and co-leader, NFP Construction & Infrastructure (ON)
  • Derek Brown, project manager, Cahill Group (NL)
  • Charles Caza, executive vice-president and chief legal officer, Bird Construction (ON)
  • Nicole Chabot, vice-president, L. Chabot Enterprises Ltd (MB)
  • Steve Drummond, president, Capilano Highway Services Company (BC)
  • Frank Faieta, national vice-president, Surety Risk Management, Trisura Guarantee Insurance Company (ON)
  • Wayne Ferguson, senior vice-president and area manager, EllisDon Corporation (ON)
  • Eric Gaulin, vice-president, Operations Building – Ontario, EBS (QC)
  • Peter Grose, president and CEO, Westland Construction (MB)
  • Quentin Huillery, chief operating officer, Ledcor (AB)
  • John Mollenhauer, president and CEO, Toronto Construction Association (ON)
  • Christina O’Donnell, vice-president and general counsel, Black & McDonald (ON)
  • Cory Richter, president and CEO, Quorex Construction (SK)
  • Sam Sanderson, general manager, Construction Association of PEI (PEI)
  • Amber Sandhu, regional underwriting officer, national accounts surety, Travelers Canada (ON)
  • Brad Scott, vice-president, finance, Basin Contracting Limited (NS)
  • Ajay Sharma, project development engineer, GeoStabilization International (AB)
  • Rick Wagner, president, Maxwell Floors Ltd. (BC)




Stories continue below