On-Site Magazine

Bassett to helm CCA’s board for 2021-22

By On-Site Staff   


Basset has argued for a long-term Canadian infrastructure plan he says will benefit both the industry and country. PHOTO: Getty Images/Ollo

Ray Bassett, vice-president and the chief underwriting officer at Travelers Insurance Company of Canada, will sit at the head of the Canadian Construction Association’s (CCA) board of directors for the 2021-22 term.

The industry association announced the surety veteran’s appointment March 12, while also thanking outgoing chair, Joe Wrobel, for his “dedicated leadership.”

Bassett currently guides the business strategy of the Construction Services Group for Travelers in North America, manages client relationships with national and larger regional construction companies and leads strategic initiatives in product development and technology for the insurer. He joined the CCA’s board in 2010, where he has chaired the executive committee focused on federal prompt payment, as well as the Manufacturers, Suppliers & Services Council.

Among other areas, Basset has advocated for more a more nuanced approach to Canadian spending plans.


“[We need] a long-term federal infrastructure plan, that is evidence-based, and is better aligned with the needs and priorities of provincial and municipal governments, and has a clear and uncluttered funding mechanism — this will bring more public and private projects to the market in a more predictable flow,” he said in address to members at the CCA’s annual general meeting. “This is good for our industry and good for Canada.”

Basset is joined by 19 other directors for 2021-22.


The CCA’s 2021-22 board of directors:

Jean François Arbour, President, Groupe SCV

Andrew Arnill, Operations Manager, West-Can Seal Coating Asphalt Products

David Bowcott, Global Director, Growth, Innovation & Insight, AON

Rob Carvell, Chief Operating Officer, Trane

Charles Caza, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Bird Construction

Nicole Chabot, Vice President, L. Chabot Enterprises Ltd

Leslie Doka, Director of Construction, Wright Construction

Trevor Doucette, Vice-President Stakeholder Management, Graham Construction & Engineering

Wayne Ferguson, Senior Vice President, EllisDon Corporation

John Flemming, President, Ocean Contractors

Nadine Fullarton, President, CANB, Moncton Northeast

Eric Gaulin, President & CEO, Telecon

Quentin Huillery, Chief Operating Officer, Ledcor

Russ Kerr, Branch General Manager, Vipond

Branden Kotyk, Division Manager, Western Canada, Victaulic

Patrick Lafrenière, Director of Projects, Atlantic, JCB Construction Canada

John Mollenhauer, President & CEO, Toronto Construction Association

Brendan Nobes, Director Major Projects, Rcs

Francis Roy, President, Groupe Humaco


Stories continue below