On-Site Magazine

Ontario Association of Architects reveals design excellence winners

By Adam Freill   

Commercial Institutional

Awards to be presented at upcoming conference in Toronto.

Centennial College Downsview Campus Centre for Aerospace and Aviation.
(Photo courtesy doublespace photography.)

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has announced the winners of its 2022 Design Excellence Awards, which will be presented at this year’s OAA Conference in May.

The biennial OAA Design Excellence Awards offer Ontario’s architecture profession an opportunity to showcase the possibilities for the built environment, and promote broader public appreciation and understanding of architecture and the allied arts.

This year’s submissions required inclusion of Energy Use Intensity (EUI) metrics, reflecting the OAA’s commitment to pursuing climate stability in the public interest and ensuring sustainable, resilient design is a critical component of any successful project.

This year’s selection of eight winners includes building types ranging from libraries and learning institutions to striking residences and performing arts venues in Southwestern Ontario and Northwestern Texas.


Winners were selected by a jury of design experts who first narrowed 80 eligible submissions into a list of 17 finalists, that were judged on such criteria as creativity, context, sustainability, good design/good business, and legacy.


In alphabetical order, the 2022 winners are:


  • Buddy Holly Hall of Performing Arts and Sciences (Lubbock, Texas) by Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated (Design Architect), Parkhill (Architect of Record), and MWM Architects, Inc. (Associate Architect);
  • Centennial College Downsview Campus Centre for Aerospace and Aviation (Toronto, Ontario) by MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd. (MJMA) In association with Stantec Architecture Ltd.;
  • Clearview Public Library, Stayner Branch (Stayner, Ontario) by Lebel & Bouliane Inc.;
  • The Springdale Library and Komagata Maru Park (Brampton, Ontario) by RDH Architects Inc.;
  • Tile House (Toronto, Ontario) by Kohn Shnier Architects;
  • Tom Patterson Theatre (Stratford, Ontario) by Hariri Pontarini Architects;
  • Tommy Thompson Park Entrance Pavilion (Toronto, Ontario) by DTAH Architects Limited; and
  • University College Revitalization (Toronto, Ontario) by Kohn Shnier Architects in association with E.R.A. Architects Inc.







Stories continue below