On-Site Magazine

Manitoba honours top new journeypersons

By Adam Freill   

Construction Labour Skills Development

Provincial government recently presented its 32nd annual awards program to recognize the province’s highest-achieving trades graduates.

Forty newly certified journeypersons have been recognized by the Manitoba government for achieving top marks in their respective trades. The 32nd annual Apprenticeship Highest Achievement Awards ceremony was held at the provincial legislative building to reward the academic accomplishments and on-the-job performance of the award recipients.

“Your determination while maintaining high performance in your respective trades is admirable and I am honoured to have been able to present awards to this distinguished group,” said Economic Development, Investment, Trade and Natural Resources Minister Jamie Moses. “We recognize the importance of the trades in the Manitoba labour market and are building our workforce by investing in apprenticeship training.”

As part of the ceremony, two additional awards were presented to individuals achieving the highest standing on the certification exam through the trades qualification stream. Nelson Benevides received the Ron Krishka Memorial Award for highest achievement through trades qualification among domestic applicants for the trade of concrete finisher and Jaspreet Singh received the Internationally Experienced Tradesperson Award for highest achievement through trades qualification among international applicants for the trade of automotive service technician.

The contribution of the employers and mentors who supported the journeypersons in their success was also recognized at the event. Their contribution to the practical training of apprentices is integral to building a skilled workforce in Manitoba, the minister said.


“Manitoba’s apprenticeship system recognizes the importance of apprenticeship training, as it works to address Manitoba’s labour market demands and remains responsive to industry needs,” said Tanya Palson, chair, Apprenticeship and Certification Board. “Investing in apprentices in Manitoba is an investment into the skilled labour force and economic growth of our province.”

The full list of 2024 award winners included:

  • Agricultural Equipment Technician: Joshua Barteaux
  • Aircraft Maintenance Journeyperson: Cody Salkeld
  • Automotive Painter: Scott Rayner
  • Automotive Service Technician: Darby Hardy
  • Automotive Service Technician (ASEP): Trenton Wiebe
  • Automotive Service Technician (ASSET): Curtis Wiens
  • Boilermaker: Tyler Wiltsey
  • Bricklayer: Riaan Sawatzky
  • Carpenter: Michael Bileski
  • Construction Electrician: Joel Waldner
  • Cook: Matthew Dureault
  • Domestic Gasfitter: Drew Goosen
  • Esthetician: Theresa Victoria Stevenson
  • Esthetician – Nail Technician: Jordana Savannah Irving
  • Esthetician – Skin Care Technician: Calli Lenderbeck
  • Gasfitter: Stephen Jean Paul Lord
  • Hairstylist: Chelsey Rae Topolnitsky
  • Heavy Duty Equipment Technician: Tanner Kulcsycki
  • Industrial Electrician: Karamjeet Gill
  • Industrial Mechanic (Millwright): Tyler Samborski
  • Instrumentation and Control Technician: Jason Margraf
  • Ironworker (Generalist): Vlad Macavei
  • Landscape Horticulturist: Brendan Proulx
  • Lather (Interior Systems Mechanic): Bryce Steigerwald
  • Mobile Crane Operator: Nicolas Hohne
  • Motor Vehicle Body Repairer (Metal and Paint): Jeromy Sutherland
  • Partsperson: Dwayne Smith
  • Plumber: Brett Taylor
  • Power Electrician: Gideon Dauphinais
  • Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Mechanic (Commercial): Shane Sawka
  • Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Mechanic (Residential): Landen Gray
  • Roofer: Benjamin Preteau
  • Sheet Metal Worker: Quintin Arsenault
  • Sprinkler Fitter: Matthew Klassen
  • Steamfitter-Pipefitter: RJ Ilagan
  • Transport Trailer Technician: Eric Alan Barton
  • Truck and Transport Mechanic: Nicholas Andres
  • Welder: Zachary Wagner




Stories continue below