On-Site Magazine

OHMPA awards asphalt industry leaders

April 10, 2014  By STAFF REPORT

The Ontario Hot Mix Producers Association (OHMPA) recognized four individuals at its 40th annual general meeting for their contributions to the asphalt industry. OHMPA held the meeting and awards luncheon at the Westin Trillium Blue Mountain Resort in Collingwood, Ont. on March 27.

Laverne Miller, senior advisor for Bitumar, was inducted as an Honorary Life Member of OHMPA for his dedication to asphalt research. Miller holds multiple patents, including one for producing superior quality paving asphalt.

Murray Ritchie, a two-time OHMPA president (2006 and 2012) and general manager of the Murray Group Ltd., was awarded the King Beamish Excellence Award for his contributions to the association and his leadership.

Mike Deckert, vice-president of FLO Components, was named the 2013 Earl Key Volunteer of the Year. As chairman of OHMPA’s Plant & Paving committee, Deckert has played a key role in developing the Roads Scholar Program, a partnership with local colleges to engage students interested in the asphalt industry.

Roger Brassard, foreman and superintendent with Fowler Construction, was awarded the 2013 Joe Bunting Mentorship Award for being a mentor and having a positive impact on the careers of young people in the industry.

For more information visit www.ohmpa.org.

Print this page

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *