On-Site Magazine

Larry Tanenbaum inducted into the Road Building Hall of Fame

Print this page

February 21, 2013 by Staff Report

The Ontario Road Builders’ Association (ORBA) has inducted Larry Tanenbaum (OC) into the Road Building Hall of Fame. Tanenbaum was elected on February 12, 2013 by the ORBA board of directors, past presidents, and current Hall of Fame members, for his work with the Kilmer Van Nostrand Company Ltd. (KVN), having served as president and chief executive officer since 1968, and as chairman since 2000.

Throughout his career Tanenbaum has demonstrated a strong dedication to ORBA, the road-building industry, and construction more broadly, having built KVN into a multi-faceted construction operation, with divisions and subsidiaries covering road building and paving, ready-mix concrete, aggregates, heavy construction, trucking, and pipe manufacturing. Under his guidance, KVN’s subsidiary The Warren Paving and Materials Group Ltd. grew to become Canada’s largest asphalt paving company, achieving $600 million in revenue until it was merged with Lafarge in 2000. Following the merger, Tanenbaum became a director on the board of Lafarge North America and chaired its finance committee until the 2006 buyout by France-based Lafarge SA.

Outside of the civil construction business, Mr. Tanenbaum is very well known as the Chairman of Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment Ltd., a Governor on the Executive Committees of the NHL, NBA, and MLS, and as a member of the Board of the Hockey Hall of Fame. He is a noted philanthropist and supporter of medical research in Canada, having co-founded the Ludenfeld Research Institute at Mount Sinai Hospital and serving on numerous hospital, university, and charitable Boards. In recognition of his contributions in the areas of philanthropy, business, and volunteerism, he was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2007, and granted an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Toronto in 2012.

Mr. Tanenbaum is a natural choice for induction into the Road Building Hall of Fame, as his work stands out for his dedication and contributions to the industry and community more broadly. He joins a distinguished list or prior inductees, including:

1.          Leo McArthur           2006

2.          King Beamish          2006

3.          Marcel Labelle        2006

4.          M.F. MacDonald      2006

5.          R.J. Merlo                 2006

6.          Les Cruickshank     2007

7.          Donald McQuigge   2008

8.          Denis Evans            2008

•    Roy Steed                2008

•    Charles Lawrence  2009

•    Russel Cox              2009

•    William Graham     2010

•    William Doherty      2010

•    Bruce Evans            2011

•    Ted Armstrong       2012

•    Elgin Armstrong     2012

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *