On-Site Magazine

AEM Hall of Fame seeking nominations

By Adam Freill   

Construction Equipment Leadership

International equipment manufacturers’ association on the lookout for ground breakers to add to its HOF class of 2023.

(Photo courtesy of AEM)

The Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) is seeking nominations for its 2023 Hall of Fame induction ceremony. Since its inception in 1993, the Hall of Fame has inducted 67 individuals who have broken ground, literally and figuratively, on the jobsites and farm fields of the world, as it serves to celebrate the men and women who create the equipment and technologies that build, feed, and power our world.

AEM is particularly interested in receiving nominations of individuals who reflect the diverse and inclusive nature of the modern construction and agriculture equipment manufacturing industry.

“The oldest member of the AEM Hall of Fame, John Deere, was born in 1804,” said AEM president Megan Tanel. “A lot has changed since then, and today’s technology would be unrecognizable to Mr. Deere. And the people that make this industry have also changed significantly. Today’s industry welcomes everyone, and the group of people we consider our most important contributors should reflect that.”

In 2014, AEM inducted its first Hispanic individual in Agustin “Gus” Ramirez, chairman of HUSCO International. Ramirez was recognized for his hydraulic innovations, his legacy of advancing education, hydraulic research and technology, and the Ramirez Family Foundation’s funding of scholarships for both exceptional minority students and children of Husco employees.


“When I bought Husco, one of the things I said to each of our staff and each of the new members of our company was, ‘We will use Husco’s success to make the world better,’” said Ramirez at his induction ceremony. “That’s something we live as a family, and something we live as a company.”

In 2019, AEM welcomed the first women into the Hall of Fame, Vermeer’s Mary Andringa. Andringa was recognized for her leadership in implementing lean manufacturing processes at Vermeer. Having started her career as an elementary school teacher, Andringa, like Ramirez, made education a focus of her activities as well.

With nominations for 2023 open, the AEM Hall of Fame is hoping to add another groundbreaker to its ranks.

The AEM Hall of Fame is accepting nominations for 2023 until Friday, June 16. To submit a nomination for consideration, click here to fill out the form, and tell their story of innovation, industry contribution, leadership, and social responsibility.






Stories continue below