On-Site Magazine

OHMPA awards outstanding service to key industry leaders

Print this page

April 18, 2016 by On-Site Magazine

Past OHMPA President Doug Woods (2005) hands Raymond F. Legault, owner of Canadian Asphalt Industries Inc., OHMPA's 2016 Honorary Life Membership Award.

Past OHMPA President Doug Woods (2005) hands Raymond F. Legault, owner of Canadian Asphalt Industries Inc., OHMPA’s 2016 Honorary Life Membership Award.

The Ontario Hot Mix Producers Association (OHMPA) recognized outstanding service to the association and industry at its 42nd annual general meeting and awards luncheon at the Westin Harbour Castle Hotel in Toronto on March 31st. During the luncheon the association handed out its Honorary Life Membership, Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year, King Beamish Excellence and Joe Bunting Mentorship Awards and MTO Paver of the Year awards.

“OHMPA’s awards program recognizes and celebrates individuals who make a positive difference in the asphalt industry, one road at a time,” said OHMPA executive director Vince Aurilio. “These individuals are a valuable asset to the association and its members through their contributions.”

In recognition of his dedication and service to the association and industry throughout the decades, which helped OHMPA to become the strong association it is today, Raymond Legault, owner of Canadian Asphalt Industries, was inducted as an Honorary Life Member of OHMPA.

OHMPA past president (2009) and vice-president of the Capital Paving Inc., Larry Wilson was awarded the King Beamish Excellence Award for his exemplary voluntary contributions to the industry and the association as well as his leadership as a past president and active director.

Brian Eyers, manager of technical development for the Miller Group, was named the 2015 Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year. An active member of the Environmental and Technical committees, Eyers’ work was instrumental in the development of the fifth edition of OHMPA’s Environmental Practices Guide, which was published in November 2015. Bringing this knowledge to the Trillium Awards ad hoc committee, he helped to streamline the Trillium Award plant application process. He has also greatly contributed to the ongoing work, in partnership with the Ontario Ministry of Environment and Climate Change, in developing a Benzo(a)pyrene Technical Standard.

McAsphalt Industries Limited’s Carl MacTaggart, senior sales business development, was awarded the 2015 Joe Bunting Mentorship Award in recognition of his passion, dedication and commitment to the advancement of the hot mix asphalt industry and his mentorship of numerous individuals that have made a positive impact throughout the years. The Joe Bunting Mentorship Award recognizes the importance of mentorship to the community.

On behalf of Lavis Contracting, Bentley Ehgoetz, Lavis’ director of operations, accepted the 2015 MTO Paver of Year recognition award for work completed on Hwy 23 north of London from Hwy 7 to Hwy 8.

“OHMPA owes each of these gentlemen a tremendous debt of gratitude,” said Aurilio. “In some small way we hope these awards express the thanks of a grateful association and industry.”

For more

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *